Corktown Ukulele Jam

Here are some youtube videos from Toronto’s Corktown Ukulele Jam, held every Wednesday night at the Dominion on Queen. 

An ad for the occasion; Rochelle Gagnon is the Oyster Queen; “A lot of people think this song is about sex, but it’s really about strawberries”; Eve Goldberg has found a “Cold Wind Blowing.”  (The Gordon Lightfoot fans among you will be especially impressed); Collette Savard and John Zytaruk, “I see you.”  Alexis Alchorn looks really young for her age- she remembers the “Dinosaurs.”  It’s a great song and she has the perfect voice to sing it.  As for her uke playing- well, she’s written a great song and she has the perfect voice to sing it.

Previous Post
Next Post

4 Comments

  1. cymast

     /  April 28, 2009

    Yeah I totally got that the one song is about strawberries. It reminded me of when I was a kid, my grandma had a big strawberry patch in her backyard. In the summer I’d wait week after week until the strawberries were ripe enough. Then I’d get to pick some. I liked finding the mushy, buggy ones, cause I’d throw those across the yard onto the neighbor’s tennis court.

  2. acilius

     /  April 28, 2009

    If they hadn’t said that in the intro, I would have thought “hmm, this song about strawberries sounds like it might be about sex.” But telling us it isn’t about sex left me thinking, “Hmm, I never realized that strawberries were so sexy.”

  3. cymast

     /  April 28, 2009

    They say “this isn’t about sex” in the intro?

  4. acilius

     /  April 28, 2009

    Yes, the quote above the embed is what they said. It’s muffled in the video, easy to miss.